11th May 2017

TOGAF Training and Certification

TOGAF Training and revision


TOGAF stands for ‘The Open Group Architecture Framework’ it is a proven Enterprise Architecture methodology and framework used by the world’s leading organizations to improve business efficiency and improve returns on investment. One of its goals is to ensure consistent standards, methods, and communication among Enterprise Architecture professionals.

the TOGAF standard is made up of seven parts;

  • PART I (Introduction): This part provides a high-level introduction to the key concepts of Enterprise Architecture and in particular the TOGAF approach. It contains the definitions of terms used throughout TOGAF and release notes detailing the changes between this version and the previous version of TOGAF.
  • PART II (Architecture Development Method): This is the core of TOGAF. It describes the TOGAF Architecture Development Method (ADM) – a step-by-step approach to developing an Enterprise Architecture.
  • PART III (ADM Guidelines & Techniques): This part contains a collection of guidelines and techniques available for use in applying TOGAF and the TOGAF ADM.
  • PART IV (Architecture Content Framework): This part describes the TOGAF content framework, including a structured metamodel for architectural artifacts, the use of re-usable architecture building blocks, and an overview of typical architecture deliverables.
  • PART V (Enterprise Continuum & Tools): This part discusses appropriate taxonomies and tools to categorize and store the outputs of architecture activity within an enterprise.
  • PART VI (TOGAF Reference Models): This part provides a selection of architectural reference models, which includes the TOGAF Foundation Architecture, and the Integrated Information Infrastructure Reference Model (III-RM).
  • PART VII (Architecture Capability Framework): This part discusses the organization, processes, skills, roles, and responsibilities required to establish and operate an architecture function within an enterprise.


I decided to undertake the training because I wanted to speak a common language with the other self labelled enterprise architects (EA’s) within the organisation I was working.  If possible once I had an understanding of that language, translate it so that everyone else could follow!

What I’d encountered prior to going on the course were EA’s that spoke a different language than the rest of the organisation.  This wasn’t a technology language, this was a technical language born of the methodology and all I had observed is that this put a firm wedge between the business, delivery, governance and architecture.  Almost the exact opposite of what the methodology lists as a goal!

This seemed to generate frustrations on all sides.  It left EA’s and Domain Architects (DA’s) seemingly unable to explain what was important, unable to provide governance over architecture and delivery of the architecture. Other lines of business could too easily ignore that which hadn’t been adequately explained.

The course I attended was run by QA over four days in London.

What I found on the training course where attendees that were of a similar mind to me, that wanted to understand the language, understand the value of TOGAF and try and bring that to organisations that where struggling to understand and follow the language of the methodology.

The course needed each of the four days and wouldn’t suffer from a fifth.  The course followed the following rough timetable;

Day 1

  • Basic Concepts
  • Core Concepts and Reference Models
  • An Introduction to the Architecture Development Method
  • The Enterprise Continuum
  • The Architecture Repository
  • The Architecture Content Framework
  • The Architecture Content Metamodel

Day 2

  • The Preliminary Phase
  • Architecture Governance
  • Business Scenarios
  • Stakeholder Management
  • Architecture Views and Viewpoints
  • Building Blocks and the ADM

Day 3

  • Phase A: Architecture Vision and Implementation Support Techniques
  • Phase B: Business Architecture
  • Phase C: Information Systems Architectures
  • Phase C: Data Architecture
  • Phase C: Applications Architecture, and the III-RM
  • Phase D: Technology Architecture and Foundation Architecture
  • Phase E: Opportunities and Solutions and Planning Techniques
  • Phase F: Migration Planning and Techniques

Day 4

  • Phase G: Implementation Governance
  • Phase H: Architecture Change Management
  • ADM Requirements Management
  • Architecture Partitioning
  • Guidelines for Adapting the ADM: Iteration and Levels
  • Guidelines for Adapting the ADM: Security
  • Guidelines for Adapting the ADM: SOA
  • Architecture Maturity Models
  • Architecture Skills Framework
  • Exam Preparation

Each of the days was full of reading, some scenario based worked and care of the trainer we had lots of anecdotes of the material in practice.

What Next?

My only disappointment is that the course wasn’t extended to a fifth day with the examination booked and an opportunity to revise and pass when all the technical content was fresh in my mind.

The reason why I missed this is because having spent four days looking at what TOGAF was an how it operates, I knew that I had no chance of putting any of it into practice within my current organisation!

One of the main takeaways I’d hoped for and I managed to gain from the course was the ability to understand the other accredited EA’s and DA’s, imagine my disappointment that what had sounded like gibberish to an untrained ear, turned out to be exactly that to a freshly trained ear.  I can only liken it to gaining a sudden understanding of birdsong and realizing the song is mostly shouting at you, about food or sex, or both!

Then life happened, work happened, which is why I’m writing this in May as a means to collect my thoughts before I undertake the examination for parts 1 and 2 in a little over one weeks time.  it’s time to revise, and there is every chance writing this might help (hey I will freely accept that it might be procrastination as well).

So armed with;

  • A copy of my notes from the course.
  • The QA Reference material.
  • The TOGAF website.
  • Access to and other resources on the web.
  • Pluralsite

I’m going to do as much reading and revision as possible over the next eleven days so that when I take the exam on the 22nd May, I’m able to update with a note that I passed!